top of page

Author BIJAL VACHHARAJANI wins best author – children award at AUTHER AWARDS 2020


SPEAKING TIGER published author Bijal Vachharajani has won the category Best Author – Children for A Cloud Called Bhura: Climate Champions to the Rescue. The award was presented at a ceremony held at Taj Palace, New Delhi on 8th March.

SPEAKING TIGER is a NEW DELHI based independent publisher which has published top authors in the country like Shanta Gokhale, Ruskin Bond and Ravish Kumar!


Amni wakes up one morning to find the sky taken over by a huge brown cloud. Where did this cloud appear from suddenly? Even as she and her friends Mithil, Tammy and Andrew start finding out more, their city of Mumbai starts reeling from the changes the cloud brings to the weather. Bhura Cloudus, as the media calls it, contains noxious gases, causes scalding rain to fall, makes birds flee the city, and suffocates every living thing. Can Vidisha and Bidisha, the scientist twins, find a solution? And what about superstar Pavan Kumar and the amazing cloud-sucking machine? Can Bhura ever be driven away, or is it already too late?

Thought-provoking, funny and inspiring, this book is about the changing global climate and the havoc it can cause, as well as the forces of friendship, trust and community that give hope and will help counter this deadly threat to humanity.

About the author

Bijal Vachharajani is Editor Scissorhands at Pratham Books. A journalist, Bijal is the author of three children’s books, So You Want to Know About the Environment, What’s Neema Eating Today? and The Seed Savers. Bijal has a Masters in Environment Security and Peace from the University of Peace in Costa Rica, and is now a certified climate worrier

The AutHer Awards – a joint venture between JK Paper and Times of India -- are a celebration of women authors who have added value and creativity to the literary space. The award categories are: Best Author – Fiction, Best Author – Non-fiction, Best Author – Debut, Best Author – Children and Popular Choice Award. The chairs for the AutHer Awards jury consisted of author Ashwin Sanghi (Fiction), actor and author Sonali Bendre (Non-Fiction), columnist and author Shobhaa De (Debut), and author Bulbul Sharma (Children’s books) and other jury members.


16 views0 comments


bottom of page